Matera 2019

Formed on 3 September 2014, the Foundation will last until 31 December 2022. The duration of the Foundation is linked to the timeframe in which the cultural strategy outlined in the candidacy dossier (2015-2020) is implemented and to the need to manage, monitor and evaluate the outcomes and impacts of the strategy.

Board of Trustees
Raffaello De Ruggieri, Mayor of Matera
Flavia Franconi, Vice-President of the Basilicata Regional Authority
Aurelia Sole, Rector of the University of Basilicata
Piero Marrese, President of the Province of Matera
Pasquale Lorusso, Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Handicraft and Agriculture of Basilicata 

Board of Directors
Salvatore Adduce, President
Pasquale Lorusso, Vice-President
Flavia Franconi, Councillor
Aurelia Sole, Councillor 
Piero Marrese, Councillor

College of Auditors
Mr Stefano Bitetti, President 
Mr Aurelio Cristallo, Member 
Mrs Silvana Mecca, Member 

Scientific Committee
Mr Felice Limosani
Mr Franco Bianchini
Mrs Doris Pack
Mr Robert Palmer

Supervisory Body
Mr Gianpaolo Carretta

On 17 October 2014, at the end of the intense candidacy period and following the evaluation made by the international panel of judges, Dario Franceschini, Minister of Cultural Heritage and Activities and of Tourism, proclaimed Matera the European Capital of Culture for 2019.